1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S.(New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. JanAtheCPA is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Stuck and frustrated

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by nature girl, Feb 7, 2019.

1. nature girl

nature girl New Member

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on any TMS forum. I am anxious about sharing my story because I'm shy and don't generally participate in on-line forums. Anyway, a bit of background about me. I am 50 years old and have suffered from carpal tunnel since I was 19. I've been conditioned to think that it is a result of hard physical labor (gardening and wood splitting). After reading numerous books about TMS I can see that the initial onset of symptoms occurred during a very difficult time in my life. I have also had other TMS symptoms including gastrointestinal issues, interstitial cystitis, headaches, rashes and itchy skin, periodic low back pain and most recently (last 1-2 years) numbness and pain in my feet and pain and weakness in my legs. I have also suffered from general anxiety for many years and was surprised to read that this could also be caused by TMS. I tend to be anxious and stressed most of the time and the physical symptoms come a go sometimes in response to a particular stressful event but other times they just arise for no apparent reason. My physical symptoms have never stopped me from doing physical work-anxiety has by far been my most debilitating symptom, although much of it may arise from my very strong self-critic and my perfectionism. I have been in some kind of psychotherapy off and on since I was 11 years old so I understand where much of my stress comes from