1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Recovered from crippling RSI and disabling knee 'injury'

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by Lighthouse, Apr 1, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Lighthouse

Lighthouse New Member

I’ve been meaning to add my TMS success story, because for me some of the changes took years, rather than weeks or months. I want to tell people who find things aren’t changing quickly that that doesn’t mean they won’t change!

Back in 2008, I was in a bad way. I had RSI, with pain primarily in my right wrist, elbow and shoulder. I’m a writer and a freelance editor, so having to limit my time at the keyboard affected me drastically. When it was at its worst, I ended up having to subcontract out an editing job I couldn’t finish. I think I then took a short break from editing, hoping the rest would help my arms. I was pretty much at my wits’ end. My doctor drew up a treatment plan for RSI. I saw physios, a Feldenkrais person, some kind of posture consultant … can’t remember who/what else now.

During this time, I was walking down a hill one day when my knee suddenly hurt. Later, back at home, I was walking upstairs when it suddenly hurt badly, and the whole knee puffed up. It hurt to bend it. I hobbled to see a nearby doctor, and that was the first of many, many appointments: physiotherapists (many), osteopaths, energy healing … you name it, I tried it.