1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

New to TMS wondering if some insight can be given

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by sacolucci23, Aug 12, 2017.

1. sacolucci23

sacolucci23 Peer Supporter

Hello,

I am new to TMS and after having spent a long time trying to research spiritual and even emotional causes, I am hoping someone more experienced can provide me with some insight into my problem.

I am 32 years old and from 16 years of age until now, my life has been a rollercoaster of emotional and physical issues. I was a generally happy child even though my parents split at an early age. There was a lot of turmoil in my mother's life that I experienced as a viewer. I witnessed domestic abuse as a child and although I never endured any kind of physical or sexual abuse, I did endure the abuse of a narcissistic mother, whom I later learned has a mental problem and also an undiagnosed learning disability.

When I was 16 years of age, I experienced my first anxiety attack while smoking a joint with my friend. I wasn't new to marijuana at the time. In fact, I smoked in often and often, I enjoyed the experience. This time was different. I felt intense depersonalization and in the midst of that and being high, I had a sudden panic attack which had me convinced death was only moments away. The entire experience shifted by psyche to from being a happy child/teen to one now consumed with endless worry over the thought of death and what happens after death. I started dealing with questions like "where do we go after we die" and "Am I good enough to experience heaven."