1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Initial Progress but now stuck!

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by litschi, Jan 6, 2019.

1. litschi

litschi Newcomer

Hi all,

I have been struggling with chronic headaches for the past 3 years, and they came pretty much out of nowhere, replacing the years of other physical anxiety symptoms I'd been dealing with. Long story short - I am sure it's TMS.
    I have been working with a TMS therapist for the last 4 months, and initially, I made great progress! My first 2 months, my pain was 30-40% less frequent, less intense, and I had these great moments of practising the right way and seeing the pain dissipate. Amazing.
    HOWEVER, the last 2 months have been really tough!! I have been practicing just the same, to the best of my ability, but the headache frequency is back as strong as it was before. And other symptoms came back too that haven't been around for a while... like back pain, and fatique. It seems relentless.
    Now of course I am discouraged, which then makes it worse, and adds more fear.

What I'd like to know from you guys - is this normal? Has this happened to anyone else on here and then it got better again, or does this mean...gasp... that this approach is just not working for me? that of course now is my fear, that is fueling the pain.

Please reply if you have experienced this and overcome it!!!

THank you!!

2. Ellen

Ellen Beloved Grand Eagle

Welcome to the Forum!