1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

how do I get started?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by mgb, Dec 12, 2015.

1. mgb

mgb Newcomer

I am brand new to tms and didn't even know what it was until about 5 hours ago. I have spent those last 5 hours reading, researching and watching dr. Sarnos discussions on tms. I don't have the book but I am ready to get started! I'm just not sure how to get started. Should I get the books? Can I find a workbook on here? How do I even begin a program? Please help

2. Boston Redsox

Boston Redsox Well Known Member

First welcome to the forum , i would say start with any of the Sarno books, also you can start the SEP on this site for free. And then you should be checked out by your pcp dr to get cleared of and organic or structural issues

mgb and Tennis Tom like this.
  3. Tennis Tom

Tennis Tom Beloved Grand Eagle

Any one of Dr. Sarno's books will convey the TMS/psychosomatic dis-ease theory for you. Lot's of people recommend "HEALING BACK PAIN". The last of his four books, "THE DIVIDED MIND", would be the most comprehensive, covering the gamut of TMS symptoms beyond the structural, including affective/emotional complexes. Steve Ozanich's book, "THE GREAT PAIN DECEPTION" is a great textbook of functional psychosomatic medicine and his TMS recovery story. If you need to see a doctor to confirm your opinion that it's TMS, there's a list of them here by location.

G'luck!
    tt

Last edited: Dec 12, 2015
    mgb likes this.
  4. Boston Redsox

TT