1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Hello, I'm new here! Vertigo + TMS

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by cool_change, Feb 6, 2020.

1. cool_change

cool_change New Member

Hello friends! I’ve been lurking the forums but this is my first post tiphata

I'm on Day 6 of the SEP, I just finished watching Dr. Howard Schubiner’s video - nodding along in agreement and recognition the whole time! I found Dr Sarno’s book a few weeks ago and I’m just starting out, but I’m excited to retrain my neural pathways, and can already see I’m getting into parts of myself that have been neglected for a ~long time~

My story in brief: Imagine you just two shots of tequila. Then went on a rollercoaster. Then got spun around five times and asked to walk in a straight line… welcome to life with vertigo, every day.

As many of you can attest, it all started with a traumatic and stressful period following the unexpected death of a loved one. My world turned upside down…then literally turned upside down with my first vertigo attack. That was a year and a half ago, and I’ve been in pain ever since. Headaches, light/ sound sensitivity, unbalanced every day, and occasional spinning vertigo, to the point I’m unable to do normal daily activities, including work. After seeing every almost medical professional in the city & having every test known to modern medicine, I was recently diagnosed with vestibular migraines.

But I know it's related to my emotions. The bad attacks come at periods of high stress. My anxiety is through the roof. I have a vicious cycle of feeling a symptom, then my anxiety kicking in, which makes me more dizzy, which gives me a full blown panic attack… yeesh. You can see the endless cycle!