1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Hello everyone

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by John Galt, Jul 29, 2018.

1. John Galt

John Galt New Member

Hi everyone. I’ve decided to become a bit more active in the TMS community. I went through the program in 2014 after a work related back injury and had some success. After the pain mostly went away I sadly gave up on all the skills I learned through the program and went back to my old self. I was never fully able to break the fear of back pain however. I was still partially stuck between physical and psychological. I’ve had some recent flare ups of back pain and anxiety and this time I want to be committed to not only becoming pain free but to also become fear free. As long as I am afraid I will never fully be cured of TMS.

Some background: I work as a paramedic and hurt myself in December 2013 lifting a patient. Was off work for 3 months. In that time I had an MRI that showed Schmorl’s Nodes which I was told are nothing to worry about by the doctor. X-Rays were also normal. I found Healing Back Pain during this time and read it and really agreed with the idea that my pain is due to emotions. I have always been an anxious person, worrier and perfectionist.