1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Flare & Emotions

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Paigeee, Apr 17, 2018.

1. Paigeee

Paigeee Peer Supporter

Hi everyone,

I'm in the midst of a TMS flare and while I'm new to the concept of TMS, I know this is what I have. Leading up to this current flare, I was having immense feelings of rage and sadness about an emotionally abusive relationship I was in. Coupled with this, I had pent up feelings of fear about a flare up happening again. On top of this, I also had feelings of deep guilt from another incident that had recently happened in my life. All of these emotions seemed to combine and put me in the current flare I'm in.

How do you guys push past focusing on the pain in order to focus on the real issues--the emotions?

2. KevinB

KevinB Well known member

Ahhh, the million dollar question. I thought I had a grasp on this before, but being that I too am in the midst of a particularly nasty flare up, I think maybe I don't have such a good handle on it.

Time2be and Paigeee like this.
  3. Paigeee

Paigeee Peer Supporter

It's difficult, isn't it? I find it interesting that the mind becomes used to feeling good, thinking it can handle the next flare-up, and then, (in my case) TOTALLY freaking out when the flare actually happens. It's like I have all this obvious info in front of me that it's TMS, yet I still have bouts of doubt that lead to nothing but more fear. I feel like these flares happen for a reason though, as a way to teach me how to reign in the pain and become even more adept at handling the nature of TMS.

Time2be likes this.
  4. plum

plum Beloved Grand Eagle

Paigeee,

We learn to self-soothe. I'll pop a link to a post I wrote on this at the end of my reply.