1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Do I have TMS?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by composingkeys, Feb 15, 2015.

1. composingkeys

composingkeys New Member

Hi All,

First of all, is there a TMS doctor I can see in Los Angeles area?

Here is my story.

I'm a 31 years old male. I've been a musician since 15. I started out on drums and jammed until my elbows would sometimes get hot. I switched over to Piano at 16 and played it a lot at home. It had melody and rhythm all in one. I began taking piano lessons and found that I realized I didn't like getting any sort of criticism. My Dad always points out the negative and tends to "take over" when he cares, otherwise he usually isn't interested. I think this rubbed on me and made me sensitive to any criticism because of hearing him complain so much and not getting enough confidence in myself.

Anyways, I would play Piano for hours and hours. It was a way for me to express myself and at school, I didn't really fit in much and felt kind of alone. Oral presentations made me nervous and I wasn't into sports. I wasn't picked on in school so much and nobody really disliked me but I didn't really have friends at school except say one that I hung out with at lunch.

At age 20 or 21, I got pain in my elbows that were really severe. I am on the computer a lot playing games, or composing on the computer, or playing piano, etc so I figured it was an injury. It got so bad that I could barely hold the steering wheel on my car or hold a mouse.