1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Chronic pain from a lot of Trauma

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by caroldiem, May 21, 2014.

1. caroldiem

caroldiem New Member

Hi everyone,

I am new to the TMS world i have posted my story on this forum I have been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia plus i have a chronic anal fissure and psoriasis as well very painful :(

I had my first somatic psychotherapy session tonight and i discovered i HAVE A LOT of repressed ANGER

Also i repress my emotions it's my defence mechanism the session was very hard for me tonight i felt very uncomfortable but i realise more then ever how brilliant Dr Sarno is and that i am 100% suffering from TMS. I am currently reading healing back pain then when i am finished that i will start Steve's book i have also just ordered Dr Sarno's the Mind Body Prescription. I have a logn journey ahead of me and a lot of work to do but i am feeling hopeful

Eric "Herbie" Watson likes this.
  2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi, Caroldiem. You're definitely on the right track, discovering and accepting that you have a lot of repressed anger.
    Most if not all of us who have had or still have TMS-caused pain know what you are going through.
    Reading Sarno's and Steve's books will be a big help in healing. As Dr. Sarno says, fibromyalgia really is just a fancy
    word doctors use for psychological pain, but most doctors won't admit. It doesn't cause pain, your repressed emotions
    from anger cause it. Now you have to work on journaling or just thinking about the anger inside of you.
    It probably goes back to your childhood, as Sarno says it usually does.

I healed from back pain by journaling and discovering I had a lot more repressed anger about my boyhood