1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

2 steps forward 1 step back!

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Msunn, Sep 30, 2013.

1. Msunn

Msunn Well known member

Hi. I've only posted one other time but have read much here and really appreciate reading about others who share the same type of problems.

I'm a professional guitarist and started having problems playing at the beginning of this year. This brought on immense fear for me and a round of physical therapy which made symptoms worse, a nerve conduction test with no conclusive diagnosis, massages, psychic healing etc. I took off three months and during that time symptoms changed from problems with two fingers on my left hand to problems with both hands, different symptoms coming and going, tingling in the hands and feet, sitting almost immobile all day with no real improvement, you get the picture.

I'm back working now for two months and as I've applied the principles in the Mind Body Presciption I've seen some real and at times dramatic progress. I very much fit the TMS profile.

The symptoms still come and go though, and I have to admit I still have times where it's hard to accept this is all mental. Specifically I get fearful as I increase normal activities, but i've still been doing that. For instance I stacked firewood for over an hour today and afterward the hands are feeling some soreness etc. I guess it's hard to admit how much fear I still have, that I may make things worse by doing extra activities and not being able to play music. It is also hard to deal with when I'm feeling better and then the symptoms seem to return out of the blue.

I also have the feeling at times that if the symptoms are not totally gone maybe it's not working for me........I'm not a perfectionist am I? :)