1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Pain that gets progressively worse?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by s.mohseni, Jun 14, 2018.

1. s.mohseni

s.mohseni New Member

Hello Everyone, hope you are having a good week

I am still having real trouble with RSI in my wrist and elbow. Trying my best to tackle it each time I work, but it follows the same patterns and I cant seem to break the cycle at all.

My question this time is: How do you approach pain that gets worse with a certain activity, to the point where you have to stop? My wrist pain is triggered by drawing (I am an artist so this affects my job and my hobby) and usually gets to a point where not only is it sore for the whole evening, but it will be painful for the next day and maybe even the day after that. It really feels like I've made something physically irritated and sore, and it needs those extra days to 'heal'. At my worst it will be all up in my elbow and hurt to do any kind of movement around the joint. It can change from burning to shooting pains, etc. No numbness but it definitely feels like its all along my Ulnar nerve.

After its 'healed' it can feel as good as new, but the cycle begins the next time I try drawing. Usually after a couple of hours I'll feel it hurt and then it will just get worse the more I push through, until I'm forced to stop and rest it. This is very problematic when I have to work two days in a row. Because this certain activity makes it worse, sometimes its hard to believe its not a physical problem I am aggravating.

Can anyone else relate to this? I know I shouldnt constantly be comparing my pain to others, but it feels like a lot of TMS stories talk about pain that comes and goes really quickly, whereas mine is very consistent with this one activity and can linger for days with absolutely no way to relieve it other than rest.