1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Understanding Mindfulness... how does it help pain-relieving?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Seraphina, Aug 22, 2014.

1. Seraphina

Seraphina Peer Supporter

Hi all,

I've recently researched articles and documentaries on mindfulness. The basic concept seems to be mindful of what is going on right now and what I can feel right now.

However, what I understand from TMS theory is I should better ignore and focus on other things when the pain appears. If I follow mindfulness technique, then it seems I will be mindful of the pain, too, because that's what I'm feeling at the moment. How can this be compatible with the classic TMS curing process? Would anyone please explain in detail since I'm pretty new to mindfulness...? Thank you always!

Phina

2. Anne Walker

Anne Walker Beloved Grand Eagle