1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Daniel L. TMS symptoms randomly vacillating

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Guest, Mar 27, 2015.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    Hello,
    I’ve been working on my TMS for over 9 months now. I’ve made great progress in terms of improving the quality of my life; I’ve resumed all work and physical activities, resolved or made progress in solving most of the issues on my lists (past events, current stressors and personality traits) and generally feel optimistic about the future.

Here’s the thing: it seems that the more optimistic I feel, the worse my pain gets. When I am connected to anger, past resentments, pessimistic thinking, sadness, I often feel pain free. One recent example is that I worked through a long-standing problem in my marriage by talking it through with a therapist (not a TMS therapist). I felt like a million bucks after the appointment, since this issue had been weighing down on me. But then, the pain came back with a vengeance. This is a pretty typical pattern at this point.

What could that mean? I’ve explored my childhood pain many, many times. I cried almost daily for months as part of that process. Another weird thing: every time I would cry, my pain would go away.

Is this a standard recovery process? Feels like I’m missing something?

2. Daniel G Lyman LCSW

Daniel G Lyman LCSW TMS Therapist

Answer
    I’ve encountered this before, and the reasons for it aren’t always the same, but there is a common pattern that I find.