1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 The beginning of my TMS journey

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by don, Oct 24, 2012.

1. don

don New Member

About 10 years ago, when I was in my early 20's I started experiencing pain while typing. I started trying various ergonomic adjustments. I must have spent thousands of dollars on various types of chairs, mice and keyboards. None of it worked. I used a thumb mouse and the pain switched to my thumb. I tried the pen mouse and the pain switched to my shoulder. I've been using voice recognition for the last six or seven years which is particularly difficult in light of my career as a programmer.

I think it is my mind just playing tricks on me. Whenever I watch horror movies my brain starts interpreting every little noise and shadow as something horrifying. Monsters under the bed syndrome. I think my condition worsened the more I read and researched about RSI. The more symptoms and problems I read about the more my brain managed to find ways to convince me that I was directly affected.

What's my level of acceptance? I have gone from complete this believe to mainly accepting the diagnosis. I'm working on this every day to try and work up to full acceptance. My main worry is that most people talk about RSI/CTS as a progressive disease that gets worse with time. There are so many people that say 'If it hurts, stop' and in the back of my mind I am worried about doing some type of permanent damage if I continue to do the activity that causes pain.

2. Josina Stresemann

Josina Stresemann New Member