1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

STUCK!! Only improve with psychotherapy or TMS MD visit.

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Joey2276, Jul 23, 2016.

1. Joey2276

Joey2276 Peer Supporter

Hi all! I have been doing TMS therapy since February of 2014. I have fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue type symptoms, IBS, migraines, depression, dry eyes, many more that have improved a lot and others that haven't. I saw the 20 20 segment and thought oh wow this is so me; people pleaser, lots of guilt, perfectionism goodism all of it; got the books and really confirmed it; the problem was that this awareness and journaling did nothing for me except my fear of damaging back and joints was reduced as I began to see it as a brain induced rather than structural process.

Then I started TMS psychotherapy doing a lot of ISTDP; also got a MD stamp for the diagnosis. NO matter what I do though such as challenging symtpoms, not challenging symptoms, journaling, etc, the only progress I make is with therapy. A year into therapy I began lifting weights; went from 180 to 210 pounds in a year from hitting the iron with a vengeance after a whole life being unable to.

I'm a massive repressor; I tense up rather than feel emotions. As I've gotten better with this in therapy symptoms have improved a lot; right along with the feeling emotions progress.

I am thrilled with the progress I am making; I can surf for hours, (could only do an hour before and was exhausted) lift weights for an hour 3 days per week (could not do any of this before) , do 2 hours of yoga (could do 30 minutes before) , work way more hours without getting so tired. All of these improvements though have come through mainly therapy and interacting with someone.