1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Speak sense to me about gluten

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Cariad, Apr 5, 2022.

1. Cariad

Cariad Peer Supporter

Hello Team Sarno!

So there I am, eating my slimey old gluten free toast and thinking 'What a joyless experience this is...'. So I went and checked the ingredients on the packet... there were 30 of them. Lovely things like palm oil and xanthan gum and more E numbers than Sesame Street brought to you by the letter E...

So then I checked the ingredients of the local bakery's sourdough. There were three (flour, salt, yeast. Four if you include water). And it's the sort of bread I've been dreaming about for the past 2 years...

So why am I gluten free?, I hear you ask. Because I got Graves Disease (an autoimmune thyroid dysfunction), and some people say that your immune system thinks gluten is your thyroid and attacks it. Other people, like endocrinologists, say this is hooey and to go and enjoy your pizza.

Anyway, I went gluten free to see if it would help.

The case for staying GF? My Graves went into remission nicely (in fact, my blood tests shot from hyper to hypo in a matter of weeks when I went GF! Though I don't know if they would have anyway)... My lifelong IBS seemed better... not miracle-cured, but better. After a few months I tried going back on the gluten and got all sorts of tweaky symptoms, not just from the Graves but other old injuries - surgery scars, gut pain, puffy eyes.