1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Small successes

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by North Star, Nov 10, 2014.

1. North Star

North Star Beloved Grand Eagle

Hey everyone! We've been in the sunny south for over a month now and I finally feel like I'm getting back into a routine. It's been a rough month, TMS wise but I have to remind myself of a few victories too.

First, I had a headache coming on. That has been my longest and most persistent TMS symptom. Headaches that last for weeks. On day 2 of the headache, I gave myself a good talking to…complete with a few swear words. Within an hour, the headache was GONE. No ibuprofen. No neck rub. Just a talking to.

I've dealt with other TMS symptoms successfully but this is the first time I chased off a headache.

The other event came just the other day. I have a small scar from an abscess that had to be cut into a few years ago…it was nasty stuff. (And most certainly symbolic of some seriously repressed rage.) When I looked at the scar, I was very happy to see it looking great. Another TMS thing for me is scar tissue just continues cranking out. (Over active nervous system much?)

The next morning, I woke up and would believe that damn scar…totally out of the blue…was infected and nasty looking. :eek: And then I was PISSED.:sour: First time in two years - I've never had it do this before.

I threw some antibiotic ointment on it and refused to hover over it in fear of another doctor's visit. I had an honest talk with myself and my hubby about some things that had angered me just that day.

I gave it minor attention with ointment and the next day…it's mostly gone.

A wise person once said that sometimes, "The only way out is through," and I believe I have gotten through some of my darker TMS hours from these past few months.