1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

RSI has put my life on hold, could it be TMS?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Doomsee, Feb 16, 2019.

1. Doomsee

Doomsee New Member

Hi everyone, this is my first post here and I thought I'd introduce myself. I'll try to keep this as short as I can.

I'm a professional esports player and in September 2018 I developed some severe pain in my right thumb one evening. Before my RSI I played around 4-6 hours a day. I play on a controller and my right thumb is certainly my most active body part when gaming. From that day onwards I've been plagued with constant sharp and dull pains in every area of my thumb, and even into my palm and the base of my fingers. The pain is in the back of my thumb 80% of the time but moves about throughout the weeks. I've had an x-ray and an ultrasound which were both healthy, and I have an MRI coming up soon. The hand therapists I've seen can't figure out what is wrong, but I've tried all of their suggestions: heat packs, cold packs, stretches, braces and I haven't played in over 3 months. There hasn't been much improvement.

I discovered TMS online and read The Mindbody Prescription shortly after. The book was pretty convincing and revolutionary, I never thought that my pain could be psychogenic. Whilst logically I'm very certain it's TMS I'm sure that unconsciously I don't fully believe it yet.