1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

RSI and TMS

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by mjferreira, Mar 29, 2019.

1. mjferreira

mjferreira Newcomer

Hi everyone,

Since June 2017, I have been dealing with forarm/elbow/hand pain in both arms. I am a musician, and first noticed this while playing the piano. However, after a couple months, it began to bother me while using the computer/gaming. I went to physical therapy, which provided temporary relief, but nothing permanent. Since then, it has gotten a little better, but there is still substantial pain in my arms/elbows/shoulders if I do these activities.

My anxiety has been persistent and has been bothering me since around 2015, and I find that I am always worrying about something health-related. I have been to the doctors numerous times for other issues (headaches, IBS, pain in knees, chest pain, etc.) but none of the tests conducted ever showed anything serious to blame. The funny thing is, whatever the symptoms were prior to my doctor visits went away after the tests showed nothing was wrong. My thinking is that my arm pain could be similar but it just won't seem to completely go away. Sometimes it is in my right arm, sometimes my left elbow, and sometimes both arms. It bothers me occasionally when I do other activities, such as lifting weights or shoveling. I also notice that I have muscle pain in many areas of my body such as my shoulders, neck, chest, etc.

I have considered TMS in the past and have read Sarno's Mind-Body Prescription. I believe it did not do much for me in the past because I did not give the idea of TMS 100% because of the fear of actual physical issues. Every time the pain starts, I am worried about causing permanent damage. Does my RSI sound like something that could be TMS?

cdub likes this.
  2. Titus Groan

Titus Groan Peer Supporter