1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S.(New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. JanAtheCPA is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

relapse of back pain

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by sarnofan, Mar 24, 2018.

1. sarnofan

sarnofan Newcomer

Hello, I’m new to this site. I am a hard working teacher, a very over stressed woman that developed crippling back ache in my 60's. I had been going to therapy, neurologists, etc., for years it was so bad at the end I could not walk down the hall at work. A co-worker gave me a copy of Dr. Sarno's book and said it had healed him, I was a bit doubtful, but desperate and as I started reading it made sense. The topping on the cake was when the best neurologist in the county told me yes, my back was a mess, part of aging, and actually the side that didn't hurt had more dings and danges than the side that did - he said he wouldn't know where to begin with surgery. Once I heard that it was confirmed. Then one day the pain started getting better and it wasn't long before it was totally gone! I was amazed and thrilled. It's been two years, then suddenly I woke up 4 days ago and it was back with a vengeance, going down my right hip and leg (and even includes the upper trapezius on the LEFT side!) I sit here afraid to walk to the kitchen, it is agony. I went to the gym and did what I could, not my usual read Dr. Sarno’s book on the exercise bike. I am so down, tried over and over talking to myself and telling me it is TMS, there is nothing physically wrong with me. So far it is just getting worse. I'm retiring in June, my very well educated and helpful son has been job hunting for a while now, so I kno