1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Recurring Pain During COVID-19

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Sandhu1218, Jun 11, 2020.

1. Sandhu1218

Sandhu1218 Newcomer

Hello Friends,
    I have been healing from TMS for about 2 years now and in that time frame my pain comes and goes in times of stress and when I am in places or doing activities that I did when I had my acute episode from 2014-2018. I would love some advice and support as I am dealing with more increased pain in the last few months since we all have been quarantined and it does cause me to worry which I am sure is not helping my pain. Any stories, or advice would be helpful!

2. raucus

raucus New Member

Hey there!

These are tough and stressful times. I'm sorry to hear that you've had some recurring pain, and I'd like to share a mini success story that might aid you in your healing process. I too had a recurrence of pain during COVID-19.

I have been free of "RSI" and hand pain since 2016. See https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/threads/hands-pain-free-for-over-a-year-no-more-rsi.17740/#post-93949 (Hands pain free for over a year. No more RSI!) for the success story. It also has a link to my original post on the forum for help.

The start of the quarantine coincided with moving into a new apartment by myself for the first time. I was very excited to try living by myself. This combined with the quarantine got me regularly working on my computer for longer hours. About a month into the quarantine I had a flare up of hand pain. I had subconsciously convinced myself that the pain should return due to both my increased lethargy and computer use.

Here is what I did:
    1. I first told myself to not panic and remain calm. This time I was ready. I knew that the pain was no cause for concern even though it was nagging me a bit.