1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Recent Breakthrough for Allergies/Hay Fever

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by Christina, Jan 15, 2023.

1. Christina

Christina New Member

Hi all, I'm new to this particular forum, but I wanted to share with you my experience with TMS, low back pain, and a host of other symptoms, in the hopes that it might inspire others to think outside the box and really question their symptoms. And honestly, I think writing this out is also partially selfish because I'm reinforcing to my mind that most (and maybe all?) of my symptoms are emotional in origin.

About 10 years ago, I was dealing with some severe low back pain. Initially, the perceived injury was pulling a rain boot on in the morning (in hindsight, I was very unhappy with working on this farm, but thought I "should" like it.) I'll also say, previously I was lifting 80-90 pound plaster molds in getting my art degree, and I felt pretty strong in my body. So it kinda didn't make sense that pulling a boot on would be a source of severe injury.

Fast forward a year: I had recently moved in with a new partner to a new city and started up school again for a second degree - so it was kind of a stressful time (I also really resented going to school-- I have issues with our whole educational system, but again, felt like I "should" just be happy.) My back pain increased in severity ten-fold, and "progressed" to sciatica. The pain was nearly constant, I was popping aspirin like crazy, was seeing a physical therapist (with no progress at all, just temporary relief at times). I would wake up in the middle of the night, and have to get up to walk around my apartment to get some relief from the pain, it was so bad.