1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1 Ready to beat TMS!

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by MindBodyPT, Dec 24, 2016.

1. MindBodyPT

MindBodyPT Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi there!

I'm a new member here and discovered John Sarno and TMS just over a week ago! I'm excited to be here, both personally and professionally!

I have quite a long story about my TMS but to make it shorter: I am a practicing physical therapist in the US. I have always subscribed to the theory of structural deficits causing back/neck pain. It is an integral part of our profession at the moment!

Over the past 6 months I have had worsening low back pain and sciatica that I was attributing to my physically active job and doing weight lifting. After consulting with other PTs and a neurologist and an MRI, I was found to have two herniated discs at L4-5 and L5-S1. Like many of you, was told I would have to limit my physical activity greatly. I had a recurrence of pain/spasm and am now out of work temporarily on FMLA due to a lifting restriction from my doctor.

I felt myself getting more and more anxious and depressed over this and desperately began searching online for alternative methods. I first found a mention of Sarno and TMS on a blog, cited as a miracle cure. I was fascinated by the person's story and immediately bought Healing Back Pain for my Kindle! I read it and was amazed and excited by the theories...I could already feel my pain leaving me!