1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Post-TMS - NO more pain but left to face my problems head on

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Adventureseeker, Aug 17, 2017.

1. Adventureseeker

Adventureseeker Peer Supporter

Hi all,

I know this forum should be focused about healing from pain... but I was wondering whether there's someone who has faced the situation I'm in right now. Last year I healed myself from my chronic pain thanks to this forum and the structured program, only to uncover the root of the pain. Pain no longer serves as a distraction so that now I am fully aware of the problems, and I am constantly thinking about how hopeless some things in my life are.

Basically, the main cause for my TMS was work-related. I'm a freelancer, and I don't get paid enough for what I do, payments arrive very late, I am given very demanding tasks (because clients know I work hard), and basically there isn't a way to change the situation because the market is limited. A therapist last year convinced me that I should change my attitude, and helped me deal with work related stress better - but lately I've concluded that there are still a lot of things I cannot keep accepting forever. I've therefore decided to try and look for full time employment in another area.

But of course it's proving to be very difficult. With eight years of experience in one sector, it's so hard to break into another. I've had a few first interviews, but for me it's very hard to convince people of my transferable skills just during one meeting. I've always been like this - it takes time for people to see me for who I really am - once they do, they trust me and like me, and my past employers have been upset when I've had to quit and move on, but the first time is different. I hate interviews. So I'm finding it really hard to get past a first interview.