1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Alex B. Overcoming stubborn TMS pain

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Guest, Jul 23, 2015.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    Hi,
    I am a pro athlete and I've been dealing with TMS since my career started in 1999. I've been talking to therapists over the last 6 years. Some weeks I feel like I've everything under control, other times I feel like nothing I do helps me to feel better.
    I guess the question I've is why I keep having these pain attacks. I'm not worried or afraid of the pain, but I'm worried because it stops me from performing at my best in workouts and games.
    And how do I teach my brain to not constantly reinforce the pain (fuel for the pain) and stop to think about the pain? I kind of have to keep testing the spot that gives me trouble to know if I can work out again.

This off season particularly I am dealing with pain that keeps coming back doing the same exercises.

I feel I can realize fairly well when it is a psychogenic caused pain attack or not. I have read Dr. Sarno's books and met him personally. I listened to Alan Gordon's presentation a few weeks ago he organized with Dr. Stracks which lead me to this site.
    At the moment I am in therapy with Dr. Stracks. I thought it would be a good idea to see if you guys have any suggestions.

Regards,
    Marcel

Ps.: Sorry for mistakes but English is not my native language...:)

2. Alex Bloom LCSW

Alex Bloom LCSW TMS Therapist

Answer
    Hi Marcel, thanks for the question.