1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

no chronic pain but chronic fatigue/neurasthenia

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by thargomjampa, Mar 20, 2014.

1. thargomjampa

thargomjampa New Member

Hi, 47yo male noob here,

I experienced severe back pain during a meeting several weeks ago. The back pain quickly subsided right after the meeting, just as soon as I realized the psychological reason for it, even without knowing about TMS. But having other uncured recurring psychosomatic/psychophsyiologic symptoms, I did some research & stumbled upon Dr. Sarno's work. Of course, I'm more interested in his book The Divided Mind than the others.

In particular, I'm wondering if my condition is neurasthenia or chronic fatigue? I'm not really always tired per se, but this past decade, just a bit of physical exertion quickly makes me tired, whereas I used to be very athletic. I've done several cardio pulmonary stress tests & my heart & lungs are great! I do have asymptomatic hypertension, for several years now, which I refuse to treat with medication, but by exploring various alternative means.

The gist of my chronic fatigue is that I get sick, with flu like symptoms, for weeks after moderate regular exercise, like yoga & swimming.

I do have a lot of repressed internal rage, & I have been trying to deal with it, including depression & anxiety for decades. Again, no medication & I feel like a highly functioning autistic person. I believe I have made a lot of progress this past few years but the more progress I make, the more impatient I am.

But I don't seem to be making progress with this chronic fatigue/neurasthenia. I'm not even sure if that's the correct diagnosis but I'm almost sure by condition is psychosomatic/psychophysiologic.

Otherwise I'm healthy.

Best regards,

2. yb44

yb44 Beloved Grand Eagle