1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Neck tingles, back problems, wrist pain, elbow troubles, oh my!

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Utubustu, Dec 15, 2015.

1. Utubustu

Utubustu Newcomer

Hey all,

So I'm an artist, but also definitely a worrier and stresser. Between my drive to improve my art and balance on my future, I feel I've definitely fallen under the TMS-Trap. Here's my story in brief;

I started getting a strange tingling in my neck after I switched from drawing on my table to a more slanted surface, as recommended by other artists. This was to prevent distortion of my work and, ironically, neck pain. I thought for sure that the tingling was related to my "forward head posture" and did a lot of exercises to fight that off, but it didn't seem to help. Not only that, but around this same time... I started getting lower back pain. I blamed it on the chair, and again, tried a lot of exercises, stretches; all useless. So, what was it that did stop both my neck tingling and back problems?

Wrist pain.

For three entire months I was convinced I had tendonitis, I did physical therapy, I stopped drawing entirely or even typing with my hand. Just a gloomy, sad period. I even started getting symptoms in my left hand! I noticed, however, that my tingling and back pain were gone. But then, something happened; on the third month, as I was resting my elbow on the table, I started getting Ulnar Nerve symptoms. Mysteriously, my wrist pain got much better; as my mind focused on the new elbow stuff, the wrist pain was weaker. That led me to investigate those TMS claims I'd read about, and start applying it to my hand. Wouldn't you know it, the next day my morning stiffness was gone.