1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

My TMS success story

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by Dan8011, Apr 15, 2019.

1. Dan8011

Dan8011 New Member

This is my first time posting here. I figured since I’m bored at work I can spare a few minutes to hopefully give others some confidence.

First off my name is Dan. I am 33 years old and have suffered from various weird pains for most of my childhood into my 20’s. My personality traits growing up were extremely fear prone to even some of the more mundane activities, overly self conscious about my appearance, and quite the people pleaser. I recall getting stiff necks to the point I couldn’t even turn my head, as well as stomach/digestive problems, and many kinds of allergies at the young age of 12.

Fast forward to 2008 when all hell broke loose. I was 23 I believe at the time and working out at the gym at college. I was curling Weights and felt a major pull/tear in my right glute / piriformis area. Nothing crazy happened until the second day. I started experiencing leg nerve pain that never really went away completely. It came and gone for a couple days, then just pretty much stayed there. I figured it was time to see someone for this.

My first stop was the campuses physical therapy department. Without mris they could only assume a bulged disc. They told me it wasn’t a big deal and it’ll heal with time and the right exercises. I did the exercises religiously and got about 90% better.