1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 My acceptance of TMS diagnosis

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by AelinG77, Apr 21, 2023.

1. AelinG77

AelinG77 New Member

Hello!! Newbie here with my first post.
    I definitely overall accept the TMS diagnosis. I have been struggling with reoccurring lower back pain over the last 7 years or so. Which started one day by simply turning my body to get something out of a pocket. And has been triggered by simply bending over to pick up something off of the floor, rolling over in bed and walking on a treadmill. Also by heavy lifting but mostly those small things that really don't make a whole lot of sense. So one can imagine the level of fear I had of doing any sort of movement. I mostly avoided anything particularly strenuous because there must have been a connection. Anyways after trying many different remedies, lumbar supports, posture corrections, medicine, massage, accupuncture, different pain creams, cbd oil, etc. I found a reference to John Sarno's book on a reddit sciatica page. I'm pretty open to natural remedies and the like so was more than happy to try out this strategy. And just by reading part of the book I started to feel better, my 3 persistant back pain was gone. Then I had to join a reddit page for TMS which led to this forum. And I'm so glad I found this because I definitely have almost all of the personality traits and am not good at dealing with my emotions, taking care of my inner child, loving myself, the works really. I'm looking forward to trying out this educational program and continuing to read Healing Back Pain. Reading through the TMS Recovery Program by Alan Gordon and listening to the provided sessions really helped me feel like I'm on the right path.