1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Let's talk exercise!

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Mad, Sep 14, 2016.

1. Mad

Mad Peer Supporter

I've never really been a fitness nut. The only weight problem I've had is losing it too easily, as I have a ridiculously high metabolism. For a long time I was physically very strong- I worked in a factory as a maintenance mechanic, welder and electrician. I left that field over a year ago, and have lost much of my muscle mass. Of course for the last 8 months I've limited my physical activity greatly, for fear of increasing my pain.
    Now I'm starting with the basics, stretching and light Pilates daily. I only made it through about 15 minutes of it yesterday...how pitiful, lol! BUT- I don't have a single sore muscle this morning! That's huge to me. Soon I want to get in the gym for weight training.
    Can I hear your exercise success stories? :)

2. BeWell

BeWell Well known member

Good morning,

Doctor Sarno does not prescribe exercise for pain because the pain is harmless and caused by psychologic phenomena, therefore unnecessary to end pain and counter productive in the sense people may believe the exercise is what reduces pain.

Strictly from viewpoint of fitness, exercise is excellent for the body.

3. Mad

Mad Peer Supporter

Maybe I should have clarified... success stories regarding losing fear of exercise. I went from very strong/active to being afraid of even doing housework, for fear of increasing my pain. I believe that it was that mentality that made my condition worse, like a self-fulfilling prophecy.

riv44 likes this.
  4. Ines

Ines Well known member

I hope this isn't too long but I have one for you. This is pre-TMS knowledge.
    I was a very active child and involved in dance until age 18. I really loved it but gave it up.