1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Introduction, let's do this!

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Bchicken, Apr 3, 2016.

1. Bchicken

Bchicken Newcomer

Hi all! I have been looking at this forum for a while, and I thought I would finally make a commitment and join the site! I posted this same thing in the support subforum, but now realize it would be more appropriate here.

These past few years have been very tough for me. I was a classical pianist for many years in my undergraduate studies when it all began. I developed many injuries in my wrists and elbows, injuries that no matter how many NSAIDs or rest I took never really went away. I tried getting my mind off things and took dance classes, and developed what felt like Tendonitis in my knees. I managed to hurt my Shoulder that same year at the gym, another injury that never went away. I tried resting, but unfortunately I knew my dreams of being a professional pianist were not a possibility because of the pain. Instead I focused on academics, and I am now in medical school.

In the 6 months before starting medical school however, my life took a turn for the worse. I was reading a lot, and developed pain in my pelvis from sitting. I tried doing light exercises and developed Hip tendonitis in both hips. I hurt my Knee and couldn't walk for weeks. I then developed Plantar Fasciitis in both of my feet. Finally, over the past 6 months I have felt Back Pain with tingling in my feet and upper legs. None of these have gotten much better. I am 24 years old, this doesn't make sense. I'm too young for this!