1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Interesting TMS episode

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Msunn, Dec 16, 2013.

1. Msunn

Msunn Well known member

I had an experience a few nights ago that illustrated to me a phrase from Steve O's book where he saw that TMS "overplayed it's hand."

As some of you know I'm a professional musician with RSI symptoms.

On Thursday I was changing strings on the guitar I use for my weekend gig. As I was finishing, the electronics on this guitar just stopped working suddenly. I tried to do some trouble shooting but no luck.

This brought on anxiety and fear since I would now have to use a different guitar over the weekend and thoughts of how that would affect my hands?, would I be able to play ok? etc.

As the fear grew I had a procession of symptoms happen in my right arm very quickly: burning, tennis elbow, soreness in the forearm, pain in the hand-- all in the course of a few minutes!!
    I've been working on seeing TMS symptoms as an invitation from my subconscious to "take the bait" if you know what I mean. As I was just able to watch all these symptoms happen, I guess my mind kept trying different pains to see if one would work.

I was able after a few minutes to let go of the initial fear and turn it over to a higher power and even find some peace. The symptoms were almost all gone by the time I went to sleep.

I wish I could say that during the course of playing this past weekend I was pain free as the result of this experience. I did still have some discomfort, but nothing that stopped me from being to play my 4 1/2 hr gig Friday and Saturday.

I'm learning so much here and I look forward to a time when I'm back to 100% playing ability, but in the meantime I'm grateful to have this at a manageable level, where I can still work.