1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

How to actually feel emotion?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Calum, Jul 1, 2013.

1. Calum

Calum Well known member

Hi,

I'm still fairly new to this and I think I am making some head way particularly in the fear if not the actual pain department, but I've been having a problem with actually feeling emotions when I bring them to the surface through journalling/talking about it.

The problem is that when an emotion begins to surface I start to feel it and I try and concentrate on how it physically feels in my body, as the recovery program suggests, it may intensify a bit, but then in my head I say to myself (completely non-voluntarily) "O look its working" and this completely detaches me from the emotion and it goes down like a popped balloon. Has anyone else experienced this? I think that if I can just start to feel these emotions properly I'll start making some actual progress!

2. Forest

Forest Beloved Grand Eagle

One of the most important balances we need to find is between thinking logically about our emotions and actually experiencing our emotions. People with TMS have a tendency to think about their emotions, but not actually experience them. This of course is simply one way we repress our emotions.

I do think it is only natural to stop and notice when you are experiencing an emotion, especially at the start. When you find yourself doing this, simply turn your focus back to the present. It is a lot like meditation, where it is okay to have thoughts pop up, as long as you return your focus back to the present.