1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Help Needed For Re-Conditioining/De-Conditioning, Pain Continues...

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by donavanf, Oct 27, 2015.

1. donavanf

donavanf Well known member

Hello everyone!

Been a while since posting, but I am suffering and could use some encouragement.

My TMS is much better than it was at one point, and like many, I have good days (weeks) and bad ones.

Here is my current situation...

I was laid off from my (terrible) day job of 12 years in July of this year. This is a good thing. I am collecting unemployment and I got a decent severance, in return for signing an NDA and some other red tape stuff. I'm running through my severance pretty fast, so I have to get my other gig up and running ASAP, which is photography.

I'm a professional photographer by trade (the job I left had nothing to do with it), so this has been a great time to work on my passion, which is making a living with my camera. I've made major strides in this area, gone from barely being able to hold my camera up without shoulder and neck pain, to being able to do a full shoot with very little discomfort, just some soreness after that is usually gone after a day or two.

Here is my question, I apologize for the rant...

I have "de-conditioned" myself to former triggers, for the most part, such as driving, shooting, laying in bed with my laptop (I had a physical therapist tell me this was the cause of all my neck and back pain!) and various other triggers.

BUT...every single time I sit in my computer chair (where I do most of my serious post-production photography work and re-touching), I get neck spasm and upper back pain between my shoulder blades. Especially if I slouch, which aforementioned PT also told me was cause of my neck pain.