1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Episode IV - A New Hope

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Elton Smith, Jul 14, 2022.

1. Elton Smith

Elton Smith Newcomer

Sorry for this cringe Star Wars reference.

Hello everyone, I’m Elton. I’m a 26 year old man. I work as a lawyer and a canoe guide, but it’s been really tough enjoying both lately. I started having neck and upper back problems in April 2020, just a few months after the pandemic started and during the midst of a horrible breakup. I've since been through the whole shebang: doctors, surgeons, PT, drugs, chiro, osteo, injections, standing desks, electric shocks, heat therapy, daily exercise, diets. Too much Google as well. A few months back, things were getting better with the neck and upper back and the party went downstairs in the lower back, hips and buttocks. Back to square one.

Right now, I’m at the very beginning of my TMS-oriented treatment. Two weeks ago, after an intense stint of googling “ischial bursitis”, I fell on Alan Gordon’s book, which led me to Dr. Sarno’s “The ‘Mindbody Prescription”. I read through it in a week. I’ve been attempting to book a consultation with his mentee, Dr. Rashbaum, but while I’m waiting I’m trying this structured program. I’ve attempted to integrate teachings from the book in my life but have had mitigated success so far, except for last weekend, where I partied for the first time in a long while, stress-free. Working at my desk is still tough though and the pain is still there.