1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Doctor said change your profession

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by rsintms, Jan 14, 2014.

1. rsintms

rsintms New Member

Hi

I am new to this forum. I am suffering from RSI for the past 2 years.In the last two years I have tried physio, accupunture and massage with no long term result. MRI didnt show anything. I had to quite my job due to this pain in my wrist while using computer mouse. I am an accountant and worked on spreadsheets all day. My doctors has found nothing wrong with the structure of my hand but said I should change my profession. I have worked hard for this proffession and felt sad to hear this from my doctor. I have read Dr. Sarno's book and going through the structured program on this site. I am sure that I have TMS. My question is

Do I realy have to change my proffession? Please help with your experiences. Thanks

2. Forest

Forest Beloved Grand Eagle

Welcome to the forum, rsintms. I actually had the same thing happen to me. In the early 90s, my physiatrist told me that because of my tendonitis, I would probably never be able to be a programmer. Now I program all that I want. You can read my success story here:
    http://www.tmswiki.org/forum/threads/2-my-success-story.127/

Other RSI success stories can be found here:
    http://www.tmswiki.org/ppd/Repetitive_Strain_Injuries_-_RSI