1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Saying Goodbye to Chronic Migraine/Pain

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by LizzyBennet, Nov 17, 2016.

1. LizzyBennet

LizzyBennet New Member

Hello!
    This is my first day and I am excited and scared as hell! I'm a 36 year old married mother of three girls, who has been struggling with daily migraines for about 3 years now. Migraines are my main problem, but I also struggle with IBS, shoulder and neck pain, fatigue, and tendinitis. I fit the Dr.Sarno's TMS personality type to a T and I know that psychological struggles manifest themselves into physical symptoms. I am a high school nurse and I see it in my students all the time who are Type A personalities, or are depressed or have anxiety.

It's weird because while I except the diagnosis, I'm having a difficult time believing this will work for me. I have spent SO much money on medical care trying to get better, and tried so many modalities, HOPE has become an obscene four letter word to me.

Most people on here seem to have back pain as their primary symptom. Does anyone else here have migraines/daily headaches?

I thrive on human interaction and am really hoping to make some friends that are interested in taking this journey together. Everything is easier when you have a friend, and I feel very alone with this struggle. I don't tell my co-workers how I feel because I fear for losing my job, but there are days that I feel sicker then many of the kids I'm sending home. I want to curl up on the cot in my health office and take a nap! I want "Mom" to come pick me up and nurse me back to health! It's difficult always being the caregiver, especially when you feel sick and queasy much of the time.