1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Compromised and Confused

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by billiewells, Nov 20, 2015.

1. billiewells

billiewells Peer Supporter

I am new to this TMS process and getting very confused by it all. I don't feel ready to explain all of my story, but there are elements of my story which it would be helpful to share, in the hope that someone on here will be able to relate to it and alleviate my isolation.

I must emphasize that pree leg issues I was a chronic anxiety sufferer with agoraphobic tendencies. Whilst I had a back issue 10 years ago I was free of any such issue subsequently. Three years ago after a nasty bout of Labyrinthitis followed by a series of personal traumas, I started to walk with a stiff leg. I must point out at this juncture that I had always been very practical, very capable and could build/paint.

My anxiety increased when I was dumped unceremoniously, practically at the altar, and I sought physio help for my leg. I managed to get to the therapists and do my sessions but emotionally I was a mess. Three years on I am in a dreadful state. The physio stopped working, my anxiety increased and my agoraphobia has become acute. Whilst I have been seen at home by a neurologist, I have never been able to get an MRI. All the indications are that the problem is muscle weakness due to altered gait, but it has got to the point that I almost have dropfoot. It is impossible for me to get to the hospital and I am sure my issues are psychological anyway.