1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Chronic Foot Pain - 9 Issues Diagnosed

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Sarah79, Mar 21, 2017.

1. Sarah79

Sarah79 Peer Supporter

Hi Folks,

My name is Sarah, 38, British female. I discovered TMS last night, through the invariable Googling that I'm sure we've all done as we try to navigate our way to an answer to our problems. And here's mine...

Almost a year ago, I was out walking one day (I worked as a dog-walker at the time), when I had a very sharp pain in my right foot. I made it home and the pain got worse. I went to A&E, where it was x-rayed; nothing was found, but a physio said it looked like tendonitis and gave me the typical RICE advice. I did this, but it didn't really abate. A month later, I approached a physiotherapist and he started working with it, so it got taped and massaged and manipulated. I was also given stretches. But it still didn't go. Pushing into July now, I had laser therapy on it; 20 sessions at £20 a pop. A few improvements, but nothing conclusive. More and different pains started appearing, albeit all localised in the foot and ankle. I went to see another physio, I would wrap my foot in turmeric and clingfilm, I would sit with my feet in Epsom salts. I saw two separate podiatrists who both looked uncomfortable when they said that they didn't know what it was. I became vigilant, depressed, irritable. Eventually, after another x-ray which showed nothing, they sent me for an ultrasound. And this also showed nothing. Shocked, I said, 'but it's hurting now!' 'Where?' said the doctor, and placed the device on the bit I pointed to. Nothing. Absolutely nothing. Eventually, I pushed to be referred on and went to a regional orthopaedic service. The podiatrist got me to walk up and down, stand on one leg, did a quick physical exam and said, 'I know what this is!' She then sa