1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Can hypermobility/loose ligaments constitute a structural problem that precludes a TMS root cause?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by taywald, Dec 21, 2015.

1. taywald

taywald Newcomer

I'm brand new to the concept of TMS after 20 years of chronic back pain/alignment issues. I've tried prolo,, endless rounds of PT, accupuncture, and endless osteopathic manipulations and have been told my loose ligaments are the root of my hypermobility. My MD usually finds sacral torsion and in/out flares. My paraspinals are always ropey, much worse on the right, often pulling ribs out of alignment, too. I apparently had a slow-to-develop hip as a baby/toddler and walked late but didn't begin having symptoms until adolescence. Have never had xrays, weirdly enough, only MRIs, and wonder if there may be a structural problem. I am realizing that I should get xrays, probably. But I am desperate and exhausted by the daily pain and worry about pain I've been living with, that seems to be getting worse over time. I would LOVE for TMS to be the underlying cause of my pain. Grateful for any thoughts or feedback folks might have about this. Thanks!

2. David88

David88 Well known member

Loose ligaments and hypermobility don't sound like causes of pain in themselves.

It sounds like you're focused on pain, diagnoses, treatment, and the like, which suggests TMS at work.

Does the description of a TMS personality seem to apply to you? Do you have unrealistic expectations for yourself? Are you comfortable acknowledging and expressing feelings? Do you take adequate care of yourself, or do you put others first too much? These are all questions that TMS distracts us from.

3. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle