1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Am I really a TMS Candidate?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by ali90, Jun 20, 2016.

1. ali90

ali90 New Member

Hi Guys,

I'm male and been down this TMS journey for about 2 month.Just a brief about myself,the pain actually started during my final year doing my bachelor degree.It was very mild until i graduated,the pain become quiet unbearable.GP diagnosed me with l5-s1 disc prolapsed with severe nerve compression in 2013.To be honest i'm not really in a lot of pain but i have to limit my activities.For instance i really like to play soccer but now i can't since it will cause me more pain. I've been through the conventional path with painkillers,pt but to no avail.It will help for a while than back to square one. Two months ago I discovered this TMS thing.I actually been cured for almost two weeks before i had a relapse.Regarding my personality, I don't actually fit the TMS profile.I'm no perfectionist,not really a people pleaser and had an awesome childhood.

My question to you guys,if i didn't really fit the general TMS profile,does it mean my problem is 100 % structural?

p/s Pardon my english as its not my mother tongue.I'm from Asia

Ines likes this.
  2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi, ali. Your English is fine. You may not be a perfectionist or a people pleaser or had an "awesome" childhood, but it looks to me like your pain is still emotional and not structural. Disc problems often do not cause pain. The pain comes on because something is worrying you. That's easy to understand in these stressful times, and living in Asia has its own stresses.

If you possibly can, increase your belief in TMS and that your pain is not in any way or degree structural. It most likely isn't.