1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Affordable TMS Therapy?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by HongKongLouie, May 1, 2018.

1. HongKongLouie

HongKongLouie New Member

Hi All,

I've been working on TMS recovery for about 2 months now and while I'm getting better and better I'm still not quite to a point where i can perform my job pain free and work out. I decided that instead of doing this alone I should seek out a doctor, so I saw Dr. Seagal today and she said I was a clear cut case for TMS after looking over everything. She liked all the things I'm doing in my recovery (reading unlearn your pain, daily affirmations, meditation, and baby steps towards normalcy), but she really recommended I get psychotherapy as my next step.

The only problem with that is that none of these therapists seem to be covered by insurance. I was given a referral to Dr. Frank in my area and 2 doctors at the Rusk institute who may be able to do Skype therapy. I really want to fully pursue everything I can, but it would be difficult to do multiple sessions of therapy that were completely out of pocket. Does anyone have any suggestions at affordable TMS therapies? I'm in the DC area by the way and I'd prefer in person therapy but could be open to Skype.

2. Andy Bayliss

Andy Bayliss TMS Coach & Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi HongKongLouie,

Not much help here except to add that long distance therapy is usually not covered by insurance. I think Alan Gordon's group offers some more affordable rates, with interns, but not covered by insurance?