1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

A couple of questions

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by JoshB, Dec 1, 2012.

1. JoshB

JoshB New Member

Hey TMS Community,

This is my first time posting in the forum besides the structured program. Heres a brief summary of what has been going on. I got really stressed out in the spring with school and work and started carrying tension in my shoulders. I started to work and it got progressively worse moving around in my back. I had to stop my summer job. I was really nervous starting school again, fearful which as you know makes the symptoms worse. I tried doing what the doctors and physios said postural etc. was only making it worse. During midterms I felt a low point in my life, anxiety, stress and depression. I had never experienced anything else like it.

Finally after midterms I felt like there must be something else. I looked online and came across sarnos book. I read it in a week, the fallowing week was amazing. I had found a new hope i was really thinking psychologically. The next few weeks were filled with ups and downs. But i was even suprised to have any good days seeing how it was before I read the book. I started the structured program in the wiki, the back pain moved had some new shoulder pain and tension in the shoulders. This was a good sign.

But a week ago, my girlfriend broke up with me. Somewhat expected but I was in denial as my main focus at the time was trying sarno's techniques. I have been battling with the emotional side of things from that and trying to complete the structured program.