1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1 21 Year Old Student, Starting the Program!

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Tom Russell, Sep 20, 2014.

1. Tom Russell

Tom Russell New Member

Hi, my name is Tom Russell and I am a 21 year old student from England! Today I am going to start the Structured Educational Program.

My TMS symptoms started to become a problem around May this year when I was about to take my university exams. Along with this I had also been struggling with self-esteem issues and my grandmother was recently diagnosed with cancer. Despite this, I did not feel particularly stressed (at least, not consciously).

For most of my life I have had minor issues with my stomach, namely bouts of nausea. Around this time my symptoms suddenly became very severe, with the nausea reaching intense levels. This meant that I was eating less than one meal a day and also slept every night propped up in a sitting position. It became apparent pretty quickly that I wouldn't be able to take my exams, so I dropped out of the year and returned home early. I made several visits to the doctors and I was convinced that there was something terribly wrong with my stomach. I was referred to a gastrointestinal consultant who decided that I had 'non-ulcer dyspepsia' (or functional dyspepsia). In other words, dyspepsia not caused by any physical problems, but by stress.