1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Trying to overcome and get back on the horse

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by billyp, Jun 8, 2015.

1. billyp

billyp New Member

I have been a very active and athletic person my whole life. I was a professional jockey for 9 years and rode at many well known racetracks. After that career I took up marathon running then ultra running. I've finished 4 Boston Marathons, three 50 mile endurance races and one 100 miler. I've never been down for long. Always looking for the next challenge. That changed for me when I began to get sudden back pain in my mid back in late 2010. It started out of nowhere and felt like a nail in my spine. It would go away during the day but come back every night while I was sleeping. My muscles would tighten up so much that I could barely get out of bed. After about a year and a half of desperate searching and dozens of appointments with every medical professional and witch doctor I could find, I stumbled across a disease called Ankylosing Spondylitis. I met with a Rheumatologist and she did a bucket of tests. Nothing came back positive except for the gene which can be associated with that condition HLA-B27. I accepted the possibility of this diagnosis and began Enbrel injections. At that time I was mentally accepting that this medication would take care of it. I felt somewhat better for a few months. . After a while I started to follow a Facebook page dedicated to AS sufferers. I read posts and learned about conditions and symptoms that I didn't have. This was the worst thing I could have done as I began to have anxiety and great fear about what was going to happen to me. I was literally scared out of my mind. Well, as you might expect the pain came back and was worse than before. I hurt all the time and had such terrible muscle spams in my back that I w