1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

TMS versus Structural - My thoughts

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Jules, Sep 23, 2018.

1. Jules

Jules Well known member

Okay, I’m not an expert by any means, but I’ve been on this TMS healing roller coaster for four years now, so I can at least tell you what I’ve learned. Not everything is TMS - however, structural issues or injuries that should have healed in due time, but hasn’t, IS. This is an important distinction. We’re never going to go through life without symptoms or pain and we wouldn’t, because pain is a signal to ACT. So, if you hurt your arm, shoulder leg, neck, etc...it should heal, it’s when it doesn’t and residual pain continues that you can suspect TMS.

For instance, I had a separated shoulder - a real injury - but once the healing should have occured, it didn’t and in fact, took 6 months, that’s when TMS took over. Another case in point: I incurred a wasp sting about 6 weeks ago that should have healed within days, but took over 3 weeks! That’s not normal, but TMS came in and kept me riveted to that stupid sting. Why? Because, at that point, I was dealing with some repressed emotions, which came up in therapy, that with processing resulted in healing the sting.

Also, if you have some disease passed down, that’s NOT TMS, such as RA, Diabetes, and the like, but I do know that TMS work can help control those diseases. I also think that if pain that should have gone away hasn’t, you could also be conditioned to feeling that pain and as Steve says, if you expect pain, you’ll get pain. It’s all about retraining your brain to expect pleasure, not pain, and not to send danger signals when there is no danger.