1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Question about 'Ignoring' Pain

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Lily Rose, Nov 16, 2013.

1. Lily Rose

Lily Rose Beloved Grand Eagle

I understand that the physical pain is a diversion from deep, emotional pain.

My question is this: By ignoring and 'stuffing' our emotional pain, it manifests physically. How is ignoring the physical pain going to promote healing? Isn't the very act of ignoring what got us into this situation in the first place?

I am not a professional in this arena, by any means. But I am a practitioner. The last couple weeks, I have found that when I actually pay specific attention to the pain, and I address it, and accept it, and tell it that I understand why it is there ... further, I turn that conversation into my dark-secretive-hiding self and whisper into that darkness the repeating phrase you are safe, you are safe, I promise ... This is causing quicker dissipation of the immediate pain.

I don't know that I want to ignore any part of my body. Offering love and gentle-compassion towards this creation that houses our soul ... this is working better for me. This body deserves gratitude for trying to protect and shield from pain. It deserves gratitude for doing all the work of sustaining our physical existence without us having to expend any 'thought' on it. Our hearts beat, our blood whizzes around the crazy race tracks of our vessels, our lymph warriors fight illnesses, our cells manufacture growth and disposes of wastes, and all this is to keep our brain and organs functioning.

This body has endured so much. It has cried out, and continues to cry out. And now I am really listening .. not just listening, but hearing.