1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Newbie here, need advice on whether to discontinue physical strengthening with noted disuse atrophy

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by streets112, Apr 9, 2020.

1. streets112

streets112 Newcomer

I have been diagnosed with tendonitis of the forearm. My two main symptoms are general weakness of the forearm, and pain in the forearm. I believe TMS is the cause of the pain, but the weakness is clearly a physical matter.

I have visible disuse atrophy at the tendon cluster just below the elbow in my right forearm as a product of over-resting the area for months, as well as actively avoiding load bearing for years, due to fear of pain and fear of re-injury. I don't believe this has anything to do with my pain symptoms however; those are clearly caused by TMS. My evidence for this is noticeable patterns of pain symptoms coinciding with emotionally stressful events, and impressive improvements in pain levels when employing treatment strategies recommended in The Mindbody Prescription. Additionally, there are other parts of my body that are out of shape/generally weak. To a lesser degree than my right arm, but nevertheless, these parts of my body never have pain. Thus the weakness is not causing the pain.