1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

My success story!

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by Activemom, Oct 14, 2018.

1. Activemom

Activemom New Member

Good morning,
    I want to share my success story. I apologize if this ends up being long!
    My symptoms began in February of 2017. It all started with a sprained ankle. As I walking down some steps at work one day I stepped wrong and sprained my ankle and fell. At first I wasn't too concerned as I have had a sprain before. I wrapped up my ankle and tried to stay off it. Of course I also limped around quite a bit. I made a report with workmans comp that day at the request of the school nurse (I am a teacher) but chose to try treating it at home. This happened on a Friday and by Monday I was noticing swelling in my knee as well so I chose to go into the clinic. This is where my story truly begins......

I went to the clinic on Monday afternoon. My knee was swollen and bothering me but I was in pretty good spirits. I saw the doctor and he ordered an X ray of my ankle and wasn't too concerned about my knee. When getting my X ray the tech asked me to turn my ankle a certain way and I wasn't able to. She walked over and turned my ankle and I felt a pop. That night my knee swelled even more and I was in significant pain. It was so bad I could barely move it. I went back to the clinic that morning and they X rayed my knee but didn't see anything (cause we all know X rays only show fractures). Only advice I was given was to stay off my feet. They were kind enough to give me some crutches. I took off the week at work because I was in a lot of pain and could barely get dressed. I still had to be a mom as I am a single mom but that was about all I could do. I would drop my daughter off at school and come home and lay on the couch all day and then go back and pick her up.